HOW DO YOU DEFINE SUCCES?

How do you define success??

Is it money, power, the amount of people you surround yourself with? Is it how many followers you have on twitter or how many Facebook friends you have. Is it the size of your house or the type of car you drive? Is it how social you are or how often you can be at “the place to be”? Is it how many people know how much you have or how many people you think want to be in your shoes?

I know how I define success. When I wake in the morning with my day planned out. A day planned to take some personal time but     abruptly interrupted to add a kid in tow. Continuing the day completing all tasks and errands while simultaneously answering a million questions about everything and nothing all at the same time.

I define success when I hear my husband in the other room yell “TOUCHDOWN!”, my teenager complaining about washing dishes and the constant squeak of a mattress of my little one jumping on his bed….all while “relaxing” in my room.

You see, success can be defined by how you measure your life. I measure my life by weight. Lightweight superficial material things can play a small part. However, what matters most weighs the most. The chaos. The drama. The love. The tears. FAMILY!

That is how I define success.

4 Responses to “HOW DO YOU DEFINE SUCCES?”

  1. Thanks for following my blog. 🙂 I like this post. It reminds of an odd truth I realized when I was married, that most people are not content with their lives. Single people wanna be married, married people wanna have kids, people who own a small house want a bigger house… and so on. I’ve found that many people I look up to as the ideal/at the level I want to achieve see things I’ve done that make them also insecure. Good topic. Keep at it. Follow me on Twitter @mdillondesigns7 I’d like to give you some tips I’ve gained for maximizing your new blog. 🙂

    • Unfortunately I don’t have a twitter account. Thanks for the feedback. I agree, most people are not content with their life and I think they also want to make it appear that they are. I feel we all strive for something better at some point and that’s ok. I mean what are dreams and goals for right? 🙂 I also think the older we get the more we realize the “things” we strive for mean nothing if we don’t have inner peace and sanctity. I continue to strive for that daily.

  2. […] How Do You Define Succes? (mominterrupted22.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookMoreDiggLinkedInPinterestRedditStumbleUponTumblrEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  3. Nice essay! I found it through Zemanta related articles and linked to it from my blog post of the same title. I like how your definition of success comprises what some would consider obstacles, problems, or even “failure.” It reminds me of the expression “Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.”

Leave a Reply

